Meet Ted - a 52 year old white british male

Lives in his own flat within a supported scheme.

Ted had been detained in hospital under s37 Hospital Order Mental Health Act. This followed a court appearance for breaching a restraining order in relation to contact with his ex-girlfriend.

He had previously spent three months in prison in 2012 for harassment of his ex-girlfriend. Having completed offence related treatment Ted was discharged from hospital after approximately a year.

What's important to Ted

  • To have a flat of my own
  • To live in the Basingstoke area, close to my family
  • To get a job
  • To start driving again and be able to afford my own car.
  • To have friends, and a social life, being able to invite people to my flat
  • Music - I used to help a DJ
  • My appearance - looking 'spotless'.

Daily living

  • I don't need any assistance with personal care and pride myself on having a 'spotless' appearance.
  • Occupational Therapy Assessment on Daily Living indicated that I did need assistance to live within the community.
  • I particularly need assistance with menu planning and cooking hot meals.

Health conditions, medication and provision

  • Ted has a mild learning disability and traits of Autism
  • Undertook offence-related therapy with input from psychology and psychiatry
  • Has had Occupational Therapy input in assessing his daily living skills and functioning
  • Has had Speech and Language Therapy in relation to his levels of comprehension.
  • Forensic History
  • Has previously reported low mood and was prescribed anti-depressants although has now withdrawn from these.
  • Ted states that when he gets frustrated he can become angry with others.
  • Ted has asthma and is prescribed inhalers to maintain this condition. Ted is also under the Asthma clinic to monitor the condition.
  • Ted has eczema and can experience significant flare ups. Ted has topical creams to maintain this condition.
  • Ted has Cough Syncope, a condition which can result in loss of consciousness during episodes of cough. It is felt that this condition may be exacerbated by Ted being a heavy smoker.

Resources and assests

  • Has own accommodation within a scheme that offers further support around managing a tenancy.
  • Has held a driving licence and is currently in the process of reapplying for this.
  • Has supportive family who live fairly locally.
  • Has now got a care support package of ten hours per week. Focus of the support is to link in to some appropriate social networks and structured activities and also to further develop skills, confidence and safety in cooking hot meals.
  • Is a friendly, polite person with a good sense of humour.
  • Has previously held some paid employment.
  • Post discharge has had follow up support from Forensic Learning Disability Health Team, Occupational Therapy and psychological support from a local Learning Disability Health team, as well as input from Care Management and a Clinical Commissioning Group.
  • Has an Independent Advocate.

Concerns and questions

  • I would like to get my driving licence back.
  • I would like to get a paid job. I am concerned that declaring my convictions could affect my chances.
  • I want to make friends but know that I can't go where my ex-girlfriend might be. How do I go about finding social networks that are thought to be ok for me to go to?
  • I am worried about getting into difficulties with my bills and being behind on my bills.

Professionals concerns

Employment - Ted may not have realistic expectations of achieving paid employment unaided. He seems to only have been in paid employment for a short period. Observation of him in an interview for a voluntary role showed he was unable to answer most interview questions satisfactorily.

Social Network - Ted may find it difficult to independently transfer the offence related therapy into developing more appropriate activities and networks, so there is a risk that he will reoffend.

There are concerns about his maintaining appropriate boundaries with females. Ted has had considerable difficulties in understanding rules and seeing things from the perspective of others.

Family contact - Ted had previously relied significantly on his family, particularly his parents. This had caused strains on the relationship and was not sustainable due to their age and physically frailty.

Daily living - Ted can give the impression that he is more functionally able than he is in respect to his learning disability. Ted does not always communicate if he needs support or if he has difficulties.

Ted's friendly and trusting nature can make him vulnerable to potential exploitation from others.